Chicago
+
Post
Close
Books: Textbooks

The Day The Falls Stood Still Hard Cover Book w Dust Hacket Cathy Marie Buchanan

$1 by Sue in Joliet & Shorewood, 6 days ago
Send Message
The Day The Falls Stood Still Hard Cover Book w Dust Hacket Cathy Marie Buchanan in Chicago
The Day The Falls Stood Still Hard Cover Book w Dust Hacket Cathy Marie Buchanan in Chicago
The Day The Falls Stood Still Hard Cover Book w Dust Hacket Cathy Marie Buchanan in Chicago
The Day The Falls Stood Still Hard Cover Book w Dust Hacket Cathy Marie Buchanan in Chicago

The Day The Falls Stood Still A Novel * 320 Page Hard Cover Book with Dust Jacket by Cathy Marie Buchanan.

Both The Book and Dust Jacker Are In Very Nice Condition.

Synopsis
In the tradition of "City of Light" and "Fortune's Rocks" comes a stunning debut novel of one family's struggle, set against the tumultuous backdrop of Niagara Falls.
Steeped in the intriguing history of Niagara Falls, this epic love story is as rich, spellbinding, and majestic as the falls themselves. 1915. The dawn of the hydroelectric power era in Niagara Falls. Seventeen-year-old Bess Heath has led a sheltered existence as the youngest daughter of the director of the Niagara Power Company. After graduation day at her boarding school, she is impatient to return to her picturesque family home near Niagara Falls. But when she arrives, nothing is as she had left it. Her father has lost his job at the power company, her mother is reduced to taking in sewing from the society ladies she once entertained, and Isabel, her vivacious older sister, is a shadow of her former self. She has shut herself in her bedroom, barely eating--and harboring a secret. The night of her return, Bess meets Tom Cole by chance on a trolley platform. She finds herself inexplicably drawn to him--against her family's strong objections. He is not from their world. Rough-hewn and fearless, he lives off what the river provides and has an uncanny ability to predict the whims of the falls. His daring river rescues render him a local hero and cast him as a threat to the power companies that seek to harness the power of the falls for themselves. As their lives become more fully entwined, Bess is forced to make a painful choice between what she wants and what is best for her family and her future. Set against the tumultuous backdrop of Niagara Falls, at a time when daredevils shot the river rapids in barrels and great industrial fortunes were made and lost as quickly as lives disappeared, The Day the Falls Stood Still is an intoxicating debut novel.

Posted in: Books: Textbooks.
Find out how close you are to this item!
123 Awesome Street
Bookooville
Illinois
60543
If needed, move the map to center the marker on your location.
Close
Send Message
Posted By: Sue More From:

Join the 2,621,427 happy neighbors and get started selling and saving!

There's even a "You Must Be Happy" Guarantee.

Local
Buy & Sell
94,000+
Followers
2,621,427
Neighbors
Family
Friendly

©2019 Bookoo, Inc. 2270 US Highway 30, Oswego, IL 60543. Dedicated to our families.